Silky, Soft, Shea Butter

Shea butter- a diamond find for beautiful lasting moisturised Nubian Sisters. I only really found out about 100% Shea butter when I became natural just over 1 year ago.

Did you know Shea Butter comes from nuts of the African Shea Tree which is found across Sub-Saharan Africa all the way from the West across to the West i.e. from Nigeria all the way to Ethiopia!

The most amazing thing about Shea Butter is its multiple uses! I use this rich Vitamin-rich butter to seal after I ‘water my hair’ to lock in moisture. But at the same time, I use it as a body cream. My hair feels soft and supple the next day and my body feels warm and silky.

It is meant to have medicinal properties which it is often used for in the motherland- dry skin conditions such as eczema and psoriasis as well to treat simple ailments such as nasal congestion.  Families cook with Shea Butter, use it as soaps it is often incorporated into many cosmetics.

I buy my Shea Butter from Brixton-its in almost every hair shop. You probably would be hard-pushed to find it in larger retailers, so my advice is not to bother looking there!

Overall, my summary of my much loved Shea Butter would be:

SHEA BUTTER TIPS & FLOPS

  1. A little goes a long way! Don’t get too excited and empty the whole tub on your hair/body, or you could end up looking like a cooked Plantain!
  2. Sometimes it can be quite crumbly and you’ll have a floor full of more Shea Butter than in your hair! Make sure you rub it in well into your hands until it forms an oil.
  3. I love the smell of Shea Butter- but some people don’t! You can get around this by purchasing the ‘Refined’ version which is white in colour, has a more malleable consistency – but can be quite hard. This is in contrast to the ‘Unrefined’ yellow gold that I love!
  4. Downsides to the ‘Unrefined’ version- the techniques used to make this reduces the vitamin content so you may not get the same benefits
  5. Sometimes it can be too sticky and your wash day may come round sooner than you would want- you may want to use it on your hair alternate days and intermix it with light oils such as Jojoba Oil.
  6. Its easy on the pocket- for example a 500g Shea Butter can be bought for about £4.99-£6.99.

Try it and see if you like it! Let me know how you get on with it.

13 responses to “Silky, Soft, Shea Butter

  1. Pingback: Water My Afro | Nubian Sisters·

    • No, I haven’t heard of Niloctica Shea- but I will look into it. Since discovering Shea butter, i haven’t looked back. Its cheap, versatile and does the job. And to think for years I thought ‘cocoa butter’ was the best!

  2. Pingback: Top Hair Products of 2012 | Nubian Sisters·

  3. Hello where exactly in brixton do you get your shea butter. I live quite close to brixton & I’ve wanted some shea butter for the longest time but I don’t know where to get it. I want to use it on my hair & also on my skin as I have eczema & I’ve heard that shea butter really helps. Please reply as soon as possible, I could really use your help. Thank you.

    • Hello Monique, if you go to most of the hair shops where the market is in brixton and ask the retailer if they have ‘natural’ shea butter- they will point you to where they keep it. It is separate to the chemically produced stuff! I would say I have found it in most of the shops I have been into since the demand is increasing, most of them are stocking it. BUt i would say, shop around for a good price.

      • Thank you for replying. A while back I heard about a shop that sells it called Nubian Naturals but I tried to find the shop about a month ago and didn’t have any luck. I set myself a mission to find it yesterday but on my way there I decided to stop in a hair shop called ACE or K ACE to get some shampoo and conditioner and to my surprise after I found my shampoo I turned around and there was 100% unrefined natural african shea butter. I paid £3.99 for 8 ounces (227g). I don’t know if that’s cheap or expensive but I was just glad to find some. Thanks again for your reply.

  4. It’s really a cool and useful piece of information. I’m happy that you simply shared this helpful information with us.
    Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Pingback: Summer Hair Rules | Nubian Sisters·

Leave a Reply

