The Love Of A Strong Black Man

I thought I’d put down in words what it feels like to have a love a strong black man. I feel like a lot of Black Men get a bad rap. Maybe we as black women should stop knocking them down and start to build them up. As with any thing- not every man out there will be the same, and you can’t always go on previous bad experiences of your own or others. Many of us are blessed with strong, caring, loving and family orientated men. I’m sure there are many women out there you have a man who will make them laugh until they cry and comfort them when they are down.

I see many examples of great black fathers out there, whether they are with the mother of their children or not. There is a lot of love out there but if we keep on demoralising and adding negativity towards them, then men may grow up with lower expectations of themselves. Remember many black women are also raising black sons who will grow up to be ‘one of these black men’ and I don’t believe that it is true that all of these young males will grow up to be a reflection of the negative stereotypes that exist in society today.

Not all black men are in gangs. Not all black men are no-hopers.  There are thousands of successful Black Male Lawyers, Doctors, Business men and so forth. There are black men who want to do more than just go to the cinema for a date- there are cultured black men who want to go to expand your mind by going to Theatre, Opera or what about Skiing, travelling the world or just going for walks and talking.

Black women need to support their men and create a stronger united front and not simply  jump on the ‘hate-all-black-men-bandwagon.’

Remember, you can still be a self-sufficient black woman, who earns a good wage and is surrounded by good friends but you can also be supported and enriched by a real black man who can lift you when you are down, and raise you even higher when you are up.

Ladies, don’t listen to everything your girlfriends will say to you!  Yes, I said i!  There will be fellow ladies who unfortunately will have had bad situations and messy relationship breakdowns. This does not mean they will necessarily have the best advice for you because they are coming from a different place. Beware of the ‘friends’ who are quick to tell you to ‘leave him’ when you’ve had an argument so they can have another single buddy to chill with on a friday and saturday night.

Trust me, these same women may WANT what you have! I mean, who doesn’t want stability? Who doesn’t want another better half? Who doesn’t want to experience true love? True love is not smooth sailing and it doesn’t pretend to be! It is about taking the rough with  the smooth.Women, if you treat your man well, you will get treated well yourself. Good relationships are not without hard work and daily effort.

So on that note! Women, love your men and let them know that they are special in each and every way and show and tell them that you love them each and every day.

 

9 responses to “The Love Of A Strong Black Man

  1. Pingback: The Love Of A Strong Black Man | Africapublic·

  2. Omg!!!!! I am so elated right now reading this topic on your blog… I’m giving you a big thumbs up because you are so right on this topic. I myself have a beauiful and amazing man. He loves me unconditionally, helps me and constantly encouraging me to be better. Ladies, there are good men out there for sure. There are men out there looking for a beautiful family life just like women are looking.We as women sometimes overlook the non flashy, normal looking guy.Good guys are at sports events with their children, coaching, at parks, volunteering and Not in the clubs. Pray on that man, believe and watch what god can do. Stay blessed.

    • I appreciate your comment on this and it is uplifting to hear other women like yourself are experiencing good love from a beautiful nubian brother.

      Stay strong and enjoy life xx

  3. **I must’ve read this one night when I was short on time..Meant to respond so I’m back-tracking in your blog now to do just that. The simple solution I feel is Sista’s should raise N co-raise the type of Black brothas’ they admire/respect/have high regard for. I know without a shred of doubt that IS the type of beautiful Black brotha’s I helped to co-raise. 3 of them and they’re my Black beautiful Princes. All 3 in college, down-to-earth, personable, lovable, spiritual, big-hearted, fyneeee young men who adore/love their Moms and respect/love their Pops. We tend to forget though it is difficult to raise or often respect Black men(or self and any others…) if people weren’t raised with a good male role model or worse! no man to help raise them at all. So the issue of some sista’s “dissing” brotha’s or tearing them down is just a root symptom of a far bigger issue…

    Having said alll of that I’m VERY pro-brotha’s/black men and it all stems from the deeeeeep regard/respect/LOVE I’ve got for the #1 man in my life(least while I’m divorced & single) and that is my Father/Daddy. I’ll go one step further to say there is NO other man on this planet who can be “my man” or “my future husband” other than a Black brotha. Thats how highly I think about them and will always….And while I feel everyone is entitled to their own opinions I just hate! and I mean hate it when I hear either gender tearing each other down. I truly can’t wrap my mind around how a brotha can “diss” a sista knowing dang well he wouldn’t want his mother/sister/daughter treated in that manner. And likewise with ya’ll sista’s…WE can and must do better.

    • If I could Hi-Five you through the internet, I would. I completely agree with you that there is too much gender-bashing as we are all part of the same team, just different players of the same game! Men can improve, as can women. If more people thought like you, I can imagine that many barriers would be broken down.

      Books like ‘Men are from Mars and Women are from Venus’ create excuses for us to segregate one another, when that is not the solution!

      Keep doing what you do, live positively and raise and love your children as you do, and we will have one more group of positive black women and young men in the world!

  4. **Cute!@if I could hi-five through the Net..Lol..You just did. Btw I read “Men are from Mars & Women are from Venus” years ago while I was still married to one of my soulmates(yep, I’ve got 2 soulmates thus far in my life journey..I’m thinking about blogging on soulmates soon) Anywayz it was a very good read! I actually think its a great book for couples to read together. Reading is, after all, a good way to bond(least it is in my world…) and the content wasn’t far off the mark. The reason I don’t feel the book helped to segregate us(nope, men & women, specifically BLACK men & women , have done that on their own..another deeeeep topic for another time) is because it stated alot of factual information. Fact IS men and women are different. Starting with biological make-up to the very inception of why each gender was created by the Father who created all of us. The beauty , I feel, of a loving, successful marriage is learning to co-exist as ONE..and yet respecting each others’ individuality. In my opinion that is the key factor. Or least it is in the long term relationships that I’ve seen that simply work against all odds. My #1 example that I’ve studied my entire life? My parents. Still married and IN love after 50 1/2 years of marriage. I’m sure we’ll virtually chat again on this topic and till then stay UPlifted N blessed 🙂

Leave a Reply

