Welcoming in 2014

Can you believe 2014 is upon us already? I can’t believe that 2013 again is tip-toeing away into history as a new yellow-brick road is being formed to a new year of opportunities, hope, changes and improvement!

I have many fond memories of 2013 which I thought I might mention briefly below! I am all for looking forward, but I guess reflecting on the past is also a very important thing for the future…..

1. Nelson ‘Madiba’ Mandela

It was so sad that he passed away although we all expected it for almost the entire year after hearing about his ill-health.

I’m glad he was remembered positively around the world and that his fight for freedom and equality was certainly not in vain.

Madiba & his Magic

Madiba & his Magic

He will be missed, but most importantly, he will be remembered.

2. Worldwide Travels

I travelled this year, but not as much as I would like to! But I’m sure 2014 will bring more trips. My highlights were Osaka in Japan, Beijing, China and Nice in France. All wonderful experiences and met a myriad of people who have shaped and formulated my warm feelings to fellow beings around the world who were kind enough to welcome me into their culture. All my travels are life lessons. I’m always excited to keep learning!

Geisha in Tokyo

Geisha in Tokyo

3. Obama’s second inauguration

This was another beautiful day in history. I was proud to witness another historical day where the Obama’s remain in the White House! He’s had to face many challenges as always such as tackling the Gun Laws, Obamacare, North Korea and so on. I wish him luck in his ventures I hope he has the courage to always make the right decisions, no matter how difficult they may be!

Nothing Beats an Obama-smile

Nothing Beats an Obama-smile

4. Andy Murray finally wins Wimbledon

He became the first Brit in more than 70 years to finally win the Wimbledon tennis tournament 2013! I remember I was on the overground, radio in-ear,  tapping my feet in anticipation with a stupid smile on my face in public as I sat alone on the edge of my seat! I punched the air with vigour as I heard he had won. I don’t know why, but I felt such emotion. It wasn’t really just that he won, but it was an example that hard work and perseverance can bring  reward for anyone if you put your mind to it.

Tennis - 2013 Wimbledon Championships - Day Thirteen - The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club

5.  Sareena Williams

She certainly is a sports heroine for me- she doesn’t get as much air time in the UK, but personally, a lady who can be on top of her game, go through injury, go through family hardship in the death of her sister, the break up of her parents and a life threatening blood clot and yet she is able to climb up the rankings to regain the World No.1 status in Womens tennis. That’s an achievement and even more! Another shining example of how many people like Sareena, can come through hard times to become triumphant. Certainly an inspiration!

The Heroine, Sareena Williams

The Heroine, Sareena Williams

6. Prince George Alexander Louis of Cambridge

We welcomed this summer the birth of a new heir to the throne! I am far from a Royalist, but it was certainly a happy moment this summer! Baby George represented many friends of mine who have just had their first babies! certainly a joyous time and I wish everyone the best with their new families!

The New Addition Prince George Alexander Louis

The New Addition Prince George Alexander Louis

8. Weddings, Engagements, Break-ups and Make-ups!

I have been to many beautiful weddings and witnessed such love and new beginnings in terms of engagements. As with everything that goes up, a few must come down- but i guess break-ups are never fun for anyone, even if it is for the best.

I thought i’d put a few celebrity ones on here since just for the fun of it!

Kerry Washington married Nnamdi Asomugha

Kerry Washington married Nnamdi Asomugha

Halle Berry Weds her Beau Olivier Martinez

Halle Berry Weds her Beau Olivier Martinez

Tina Turner Marries this Summer in Switzerland to Erwin Bach

Tina Turner Marries this Summer in Switzerland to Erwin Bach

Wiz Khalifa and Amber Rose Wed in 2013

Wiz Khalifa and Amber Rose Wed in 2013

Kelly Rowland engaged to Tim Witherspoon (finally she can move on!)

Kelly Rowland engaged to Tim Witherspoon (finally she can move on!)

Kanye West decided to pop the question to Kim Kardashian. Good luck!

Kanye West decided to pop the question to Kim Kardashian. Good luck!

Khloe Kardashian files for divorce from Lamar Odom.

Khloe Kardashian files for divorce from Lamar Odom.

Chris Brown and Rhianna had briefly rekindled their relationship. Only briefly.

Chris Brown and Rhianna had briefly rekindled their relationship. Only briefly.

9. My hair Journey

This continues, onwards and upwards. It has been 18 months of initial frustration and now sheer delight of the progress, be it slow- but it is still there. I can’t imagine my hair in any other form. Its beautiful when natural. My ‘mane’ inspiration now is Naptural85– she’s my go-to blogger/vlogger for reference. Im not pinning my hopes on having bum-length hair but as long as its healthy, then that’s my ‘mane’ concern! (You can see that I think that I am comical by substituting  ‘mane’ for ‘main’).

Check out the gorgeous Naptural85's YouTube Channel

Check out the gorgeous Naptural85’s YouTube Channel

10. the Music world

Miley Cyrus dominated the headlines with her image overhaul, which frankly I feel is no more daring than what Little Kim, Rihanna, Nikki Minaj, Madonna, Britney or even Beyoncé do in their video! Not sure what all the fuss is about. The world should get over it and take responsibility for what their children are watching and not rely so much on what the media are pumping out to teach their children about morality! Things are not going to get watered down no matter what people say. Nowadays a 1- year old knows how to use an iPad and an iPhone. As a result, we have to learn how to ‘switch off’ these intrusions, child-lock, set boundaries and bring back the traditional family roles, which aren’t based around the internet and explore the world!!!! Just do it!

The demure Miley Cyrus

The demure Miley Cyrus

If you think Miley Cyrus or Rhianna are too much, then ask Madonna back in '92 (Erotica album)

If you think Miley Cyrus or Rhianna are too much, then ask Madonna back in ’92 (Erotica album)

Rhianna makes Miley Cyrus’ twerking look like a playground song in her ‘Pour it Up’ video.

So there are some of my highlights… but I have millions more in my head and I’m sure you have too. This year I don’t think I’ll write any resolutions. They are like promises that never get revisited and thus become redundant after about 2 weeks when the new year buzz has disintegrated into daily monotony.

But I do have a saying for 2014, “If you keeping doing the same thing, then you get the same results.” I’ve got a few hopes for 2014 (definitely NOT, I repeat, NOT resolutions):

1. Hope to have a happy, healthy family

2. Hope not to be overwhelmed by media and technology and actually interact ‘in person’ with people instead of social media. I want to turn the tv off more often and pick up a book instead.

3. Hope to ‘make things happen’ instead of just talking about it

4. Hope to take on some Buddhist philosophies. I’m not a religious person, although I have a Christian background. But to me, all the positives of most religions all stem from the same path of ‘love and goodness’. I’m not someone who can be boxed when it comes to religion and spirituality, nor do I ever hope to be.

5. Hope to continue to have a healthy body, healthy diet and thus healthy lustrous hair!

I have many other hopes and dreams, ie. winning the lottery, achieving world peace etc, but all in all, health and happiness is all that really matters.

Happy New Year People!

Leave a Reply

