Maya Angelou: RIP

Sorry people but Ive been away cultivating a new addition to my life which has been the most amazing gift on this earth.

But since I’ve been away from NubianSisters blog, I’ve still been alive and kicking on twitter so make sure you keep updated!

One of the things I didn’t get to blog about was the passing of Maya Angelou– that was a sad day for all. I had the pleasure of meeting her once when I was at Primary School (yes many years ago!) and later in my teen years I was obsessed with everything she wrote. She was influential on formulating my developing mind and inspiring me to write myself.

Her passing gave me goosebumps as I revisited her words of “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings” and the other autobiographical collections. She was truly a remarkable woman for all that she achieved in her work and activist movements.

She is someone who’s words and poems will stay with me and live on through my generations.

I just felt compelled to give her some love on Nubian Sisters.

RIP Queen of Poetry

Maya Angelou

 

Leave a Reply

